Sandra O. Archibald is the new dean of the Daniel J. Evans School of Public Affairs. The former associate dean of the Hubert Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota fills the vacancy left when Evans School Dean Marc Lindenberg died of cancer in May 2002.

President George W. Bush has selected UW Computer Science and Engineering Professor Edward Lazowska as a co-chair of the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee. Lazowska, a UW faculty member since 1977, will serve a two-year term on the committee, which advises the president on maintaining U.S. leadership in advanced information technologies.

The former manager of a research program for the Office of Naval Research, Jeffrey Simmen, is now the director of the UW's Applied Physics Laboratory. Simmen was the director of U.S. ocean acoustics research for the Navy. He replaces Robert Spindel, who stepped down after 16 years and remains on the UW faculty.


Biochemistry Affiliate Professor Robert Eisenman, Regent William H. Gates, English Professor Charles Johnson, Genome Sciences and Medicine Professor Maynard Olson, Statistics and Sociology Professor Adrian Raftery and Physics Professor Hamish Robertson are among the new fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The academy draws on its members to conduct studies on international security, social policy, education and the humanities. These newest appointments bring the total number of UW fellows in the prestigious academy to 43.

Oceanographer Jody Deming and marine policy expert Edward Miles are the UW's newest members of the National Academy of Sciences. Deming studies the tiny organisms that manage to survive under both the frigid conditions deep within the Arctic icepack and in the 700 degree F temperatures of hydrothermal vents. Miles formed the Climate Impacts Group that strives to help businesses, agencies and other organizations incorporate planning for global climate change into their agendas. Miles and Deming are the 37th and 38th members of the UW faculty to be inducted into the academy.

The Husky Den won first place honors in the 2003 Loyal E. Horton Dining Awards competition sponsored by the National Association of College & University Food Services. The den won in the retail/multiple concepts/outlet category for a large school. Housing and Food Services says that winning this award is the ultimate professional tribute. The Husky Den got a $9.4 million facelift last year and now has nine different restaurants and kiosks including two franchises, Pagliacci Pizza and Subway.

Home / Current Issue / Archives / Talk Back / Advertising / Columns FAQ / Alumni Website / Search